In 1982, solar pioneers Hans Tholstrup and Larry Perkins, embarked on a quest that would see them drive a home-built solar car Quiet Achiever across Australia from west to east. Inspired by this achievement and his own pioneering vision, Hans urged others to explore the boundaries of sun-powered transport.

And so the World Solar Challenge was born.

Inaugurated in 1987 with pioneer sponsor the South Australian Tourism Commission, the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge still continues to showcase the development of advanced automotive technology and promote alternatives to conventional vehicle engines.

Today, while solar cars test the ultimate boundaries of energy efficiency, they also provide incredible insights into the capabilities of everyday vehicle technology. These innovations are at the heart of all electric cars, whether that power comes from hydrogen fuel cells, hybrid engines or even fully-electric commuter cars that draw power from solar cells on the garage roof – they all use the technology that is continually honed to perfection in the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge.

Utilising no more than six square metres of solar panels, some of the world’s brightest young minds develop the most efficient electric vehicles possible. And every two years, teams from leading international universities and technical institutes, together with private entrepreneurs, come together Down Under to test and promote the ultimate synergy of nature, motion and innovation.

In 2017, the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge celebrated its 30th Anniversary.

Agoria accept their award for winning the Challenger Class in 2019

Past Award Winners

Check out the Honour Roll.

View the list of the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge's Award Winners dating back to the inaugural event in 1987.