Skip to Content

2019 BWSC Award Winners

2019 BWSC Award Winners

21 Oct 2019

2019 BWSC Award Winners

The 2019 BWSC Awards Ceremony was a fitting farewell to an incredible adventure had by all involved, from the teams, to volunteers, officials and supporters.

A highlight of the evening was the announcement by Bridgestone Corporation of their continued support and renewal as the title sponsor of the Bridgestone World Solar Challenge until 2030.

The landmark partnership was announced by Masaaki Tsuya, Chairman of the Board, Chief Executive Officer and Representative Executive Officer, Bridgestone Corporation.

The celebrations continued as we celebrated the Award Winners for 2019, with Solar Team Eindhoven and Team Sonnenwagen Aachen e.V. both taking home two awards each.

The crowd was left inspired by the speeches made by the Award Winning teams, showing us just how much of an impact the BWSC makes on the lives of those who participate. It was Solar Team Eindhoven Team Manager Carijn Mulder who noted that the BWSC is an incredible first step in a journey to discover who we are, and who we want to be.

We congratulate not only all of the Award Winners, but each and every participant in the 2019 Bridgestone World Solar Challenge, who are all contributing to what is the greatest solar challenge in the world, and something that will have positive impacts on future technology that is so important for the world.

2019 BWSC Award Winners

CSIRO Technical Innovation Award - Kogakuin University Solar Team

Event Safety Award - Team Sonnenwagen Aachen e.V.

Excellence in Engineering Award sponsored by Flinders University (Inaugural Award in 2019) - Top Dutch Solar Racing

Promotional Award - Solar Team Twente

David Fewchuck Spirit of the Event Award - Team Sonnenwagen Aachen e.V.

2019 Smart Grid Pitch Competition Winner - Solar Team Eindhoven

Cruiser Class - 3rd Place - IVE Engineering Solar Car Team

Cruiser Class - 2nd Place - Sunswift

Cruiser Class - Winner - Solar Team Eindhoven

Challenger Class - 3rd Place - University of Michigan Solar Car Team

Challenger Class - 2nd Place - Tokai University Solar Car Team

Challenger Class - Winner - Agoria Solar Team

To see more action from the BWSC, check out our FacebookInstagram and Twitter.

You can also see some of the best moments from the 2019 BWSC in our Photo Gallery.