Skip to Content

Route Map

Route Map

The Bridgestone World Solar Challenge starts in Darwin in the Northern Territory and travels the Stuart Highway to Port Augusta and then via Highway 1 to finish in the City of Adelaide in South Australia (approximately 3000kms).  

The Official Finish Line in Adelaide will be in Victoria Square/ Tarntanyangga.

The traditional Bridgestone World Solar Challenge route is visible below. 

C:\fakepath\BWSC 19 RouteMap


The Stuart Highway is named after John McDouall Stuart, one of Australia’s most famous inland explorers.  It is named in honour of his achievement of leading of the first successful expedition to traverse the Australian mainland from south to north and return to his starting point in South Australia.  He never lost a man, despite the harshness of the country he encountered.